Yogi Adityanath Announced As UP’s New Chief Minister, To Take Oath On March 19

author image
7:14 pm 18 Mar, 2017

Finally taking a decision on Uttar Pradesh, BJP high command on March 18 announced Yogi Adityanath as UP’s next Chief Minister.


The day, which was full of drama, saw many names popping up for the position as many BJP supporters protested outside Lucknow’s Lok Bhawan, in support of their favorite candidate.


While initially, speculations were rife that the top post would go to Manoj Sinha, but by around 5 pm Yogi Adityanath’s name had also started making the news.


Finally reaching a decision around 6:30 pm the party high command decided to give UP’s command to Yogi Adityanath who was elected as Legislature party leader


BJP on March 11 won UP Assembly polls by winning 312 seats, which is 3/4th of the majority.

With PM Modi attending Trivendra Rawat’s oath taking ceremony in Uttrakhand, the UP meeting was overseen by union minister Venkaiah Naidu and senior leader Bhupendra Yadav at Lucknow’s Lok Bhawan.


PM Modi at Trivendra Rawat’s oath taking ceremony. PMO

Yogi Adityanath is known to be a strict leader and was considered one of the most popular faces among those in the fray.

Though his outspoken nature has created trouble for BJP many times, he was still considered one of the front-runners in the race with many wanting to see him as CM.


This is also the first time that UP will have two deputy CMs with Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma being elected for the post.

The oath taking ceremony for UP ministers has been scheduled for 2.15pm on March 19.

Popular on the Web