Top 10 Young And Dynamic Indian Politicians

8:00 am 12 Feb, 2013

There is a constant urge among the general public of the country for increased participation of youth leaders in politics. The politics of the country, today, requires influx of more young legs in the political bastion of old horses in order to carry it forward. The number of youngsters entering mainstream politics is on a rise for the past several years and some of them have already made a mark on the national front. Here is a list of top 10 young and dynamic Indian politicians.

10. Milind Deora (born on December 4, 1976)

Milind Deora, son of veteran politician Murli Deora, is a Minister of State with the Ministry of IT and Communications along with the Ministry of Shipping in Government of India. Milind represents Mumbai South Constituency and belongs to Indian National Congress. He is one of the youngest Indian politicians to be a member of the Parliament and commands respect from the youth across the country for his firm and prudent views on various issues.

Top 10 Young and Dynamic Indian Politicians

9. Sachin Pilot (born on September 7, 1977)

Sachin Pilot is the son of late Congress leader Rajesh Pilot who served as a Squadron leader in the Indian Air Force before joining politics. Sachin, following his father’s footsteps, is a member of the Indian National Congress representing the Ajmer constituency of Rajasthan. He is presently the Minister of State for Corporate Affairs. Sachin is married to Sara Abdullah, daughter of the former chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir Farooq Abdullah and sister of current Chief Minister Omar Abdullah.


8. Naveen Jindal (born on March 9, 1970)

Son of famous industrialist and Congress politician O.P. Jindal, Naveen represents Kurukshetra constituency of Haryana in the current Lok Sabha. An MBA from the University of Texas, he is the chairman of Jindal Steel and Power Limited. His bold initiative led to the permission that allows every citizen of the country to unfurl the National Flag on the top of his house publicly. He is also involved in many health and education related philanthropic programs.

7. Jitendra Singh (born on June 12, 1971)

A young politician from Rajasthan, Jitender Pratap Singh Prabhakar Bahadur is the current Minister of State for Youth Affairs and Sports (independent charge) of the country. Previously, he has also served as Minister of State (Home). Jitendra won elections from Alwar in Rajasthan on a Congress ticket. Considered to be one of the most promising young Indian politicians, he has won many fans for the way he has wisely handled the issue of Indian Olympic Association (IOA) being banned by the international body.

6. Supriya Sule (born on June 30, 1969)

Daughter of the Union Agriculture Minister and president of Nationalist Congress Party, Sharad Pawar, Supriya is an energetic leader from Pune in Maharashtra. She is involved in the state-wide campaign against the evil of female foeticide and is considered as one of the most promising leaders in the crop of dynamic young leaders in the country. She is also a trustee of Nehru Centre in Mumbai. An elected member of parliament in the 15th Lok Sabha, Supriya has served as Rajya Sabha member in the past.

5. Agatha Sangma (born on July 24, 1980)

A Member of Parliament, Agatha was elected from the Tura constituency in Meghalaya. She won on a Nationalist Congress Party ticket. Agatha has the distinction of being the youngest candidate (at the age of 29) aboard in UPA II cabinet. She is the daughter of ex-Lok Sabha Speaker and a veteran politician P.A. Sangma. Agatha has worked as an environmentalist in the past. She has also been associated with several youth-oriented programs. A qualified lawyer, Agatha is an amateur photographer, too.

4. Jyotiraditya Madhavrao Scindia (born on January 1, 1971)

Son of the prominent Congress leader Madhavrao Scindia, Jyotiraditya Scindia hails from the royal family of Gwalior and is a member of Congress in the Lok Sabha from Guna constituency of Madhya Pradesh. Presently he is the Union Minister of State (Independent charge) for Ministry of Power. With an extensive developmental experience under his belt, Jyotiraditya is the board member of the Scindia School Gwalior and is the president of the Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association.

Top 10 Young and Dynamic Politicians of India

3. Rahul Gandhi (born on June 19, 1970)

There is hardly anyone in India who does not know this scion of the Nehru-Gandhi family. Son of the former prime minister the late Rajiv Gandhi and current Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Rahul is projected as the party’s next PM candidate for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. A Member of the Parliament from Amethi constituency in Uttar Pradesh, the 42-year-old Gandhi is the current vice president of the Congress party.


Top 10 Young and Dynamic Indian Politicians

2. Omar Abdullah (born on March 10, 1970)

Scion of one of the most famous political families of J&K, Omar is the present Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir from the National Conference Party. He is the youngest chief minister of the state. Famous for his proximity to the Congress scion Rahul Gandhi, Omar had been a Union Minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee-led NDA government in 2001. He is considered to be a very shrewd Indian politician as he knows his limitations well.

Top 10 Young and Dynamic Indian Politicians

1. Akhilesh Yadav (born on July 1, 1973)

Son of Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav, former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and former defence minister of the country, Akhilesh is the chairperson of the Samajwadi Party and the current Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. At 38 years, Akhilesh became the youngest chief minister of India’s most populous state. Well acclaimed as the CM of the state, Akhilesh represents the Kannauj Constituency of Uttar Pradesh.


Popular on the Web

Latest News