Samajwadi Party Bags 31 Of 36 UP Council Seats, BJP Fails To Open Account

author image
6:53 pm 7 Mar, 2016


The results of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council have gone in favour of the ruling Samajwadi Party, which won 23 of the 28 seats where voting took place. Eight SP candidates were elected unopposed.



What was surprising that the BJP, a major contender to power, drew a blank.


Of the remaining five seats, BSP got two and Congress one, while the rest two were bagged by Independents.

The victory has boosted the morale of SP which now has 58 members in the 100-member Legislative Council, thus gaining a majority in the House. The party had earlier faced difficulty pushing through its legislative in the upper house due to lack of numbers.




A jubilant Samajwadi Party general secretary Ram Gopal Yadav said the results showed that people of the state have “accepted the development agenda” of the party.

“The people of the state are with us and we will win 2017 Assembly polls,” he said soon after the results were declared.


BJP, however, downplayed its defeat stating that the elections were won with “money and muscle” power.

“The elections were won by ruling party with money and muscle power. These were not direct elections and were managed by the ruling party,” BJP spokesman Vijay Bahadur Pathak said.