Eighteen States Express Interest In PM Modi’s Revised ‘Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojna’

author image
5:33 pm 21 Sep, 2015

Just three months after Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the ‘Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojna’ – ‘Housing For All’ scheme – many states have shown interest and have been queuing up to tap into the funds for slum redevelopment.

According to the Economic Times, as many as 18 states have expressed eagerness to sign pacts with the Ministry with regards to the Housing Scheme.


These states are: Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, J&K, Jharkhand, Kerala, UP, Uttarakhand, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Telangana, WB, Himachal, Mizoram, Manipur and Nagaland.

All the aforementioned states have proposed the implementation of the initiative in total of 532 cities.

The Modi government has brought certain changes to the guidelines of the scheme making it easier for the economically weaker sections to apply for loan to construct or expand their houses.

The scheme was launched on June 25 this year and since then many states and banks had pointed out some problems in the guidelines which were rectified later.

There were in all six minor changes and a major change in the guidelines to make the procedure easier.



A major change was in the time period allowed for the construction of the house and for furnishing the utilisation certificate to the banks.

Before June, the government had allowed only one year to complete a dwelling unit and furnish the certificate which has now been extended to three years.

The Modi government is hoping to reach nearly two crore beneficiaries through the scheme. This was one of the major plans in BJP’s election manifesto.

Popular on the Web

Latest News