BJP Loses 50 Of 58 Panchayat Seats In Varanasi — PM Modi’s Constituency

author image
5:44 pm 2 Nov, 2015


An Independent candidate defeated BJP candidate Arun Singh ‘Rinku’ in Jayapur, PM Modi’s adopted village, in the Panchayat polls in Uttar Pradesh.

The BJP could win only eight of the 58 seats in Varanasi and a paltry four of the 28 in Lucknow, which is Home Minister Rajnath Singh’s constituency.




In Union minister Kalraj Mishra’s seat Deoria, the BJP could secure just seven of the 56 seats.

But setbacks were also suffered by the ruling Samajwadi Party and the Congress.

Family members of ministers like Manoj Kumar Pandey, S.P. Yadav and Samajwadi Party leader Vidyawati are trailing.

Even SP leader Shishupal Yadav looks set to taste defeat. The Samajwadi Party has also faced a jolt in Farukkhabad.

In spite of this, Samajwadi Party appears all set to emerge victorious among the contesting parties.

Congress suffered complete humiliation in all the eight seats in Amethi, Rahul Gandhi’s Lok Sabha constituency.

Counting is underway in 819 block headquarters.

The results could be a worry for the BJP because Uttar Pradesh will go to polls in 2017 and the party is hoping to return to power in the state it lost control of in 2002.

Officials with the state Election Commission told IANS that so far results of 35,000 regional panchayat wards have been declared, and of the 3,112 posts of district panchayat members, 19 results have been declared.





Uttar Pradesh houses 403 assembly and 80 Lok Sabha seats. The state has a history of being a ‘make or break’ player in elections. The BJP won 71 Lok Sabha seats in last year’s general elections.

  • Advertisement