Nine New Faces, Including Two Non-MP Former Bureaucrats, Join Modi’s Cabinet

author image
12:15 pm 3 Sep, 2017


With focus on development of the nation, Prime Minister Narendra Modi reshuffled his Cabinet a third time since coming to power in 2014.

The reshuffle, which saw the emergence of new faces and performers getting rewarded, will be the last ahead of the 2019 General Elections.



Four of Modi’s ministers were elevated to the Cabinet rank in the third reshuffle of the council on Sunday.  The four are:

1. Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan,


2. Power Minister Piyush Goyal,

3. Commerce and Industry Minister Nirmala Sitharaman,

4. MoS Parliamentary Affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.


Nine new ministers have been sworn in by President Ram Nath Kovind. All of them will be serving as Ministers of State.

Of the nine, two are former bureaucrats but non MPs – former IAS officer K.J. Alphons and former IFS officer Hardeep Puri.

The remaining seven are:

1. Uttara Kannada MP Anantkumar Hegde,

2. Tikamgarh MP Virendra Kumar,

3. Buxar MP Ashwini Chaubey,

4. Jodhpur MP Gajendra Singh,

5. Rajya Sabha MP from Uttar Pradesh Shiv Pratap Shukla,

6. Former Mumbai police commissioner and Baghpat MP Satya Pal Singh, and

7. Former home secretary and Arrah MP R.K. Singh.

According to reports, the PM has picked the ministers to further his goal of 4Ps – progress; passion, proficiency and professional and political acumen.

All the ministers have been picked or elevated based on their past and present performances.

It should be noted that the ministers have been picked strategically. There are three Brahmins, two Rajputs, one Dalit, one Jat, one Christian and one Sikh from across the states.

Focus has been given to states where the BJP is either non-existent or not in power such as Kerala (K.J. Alphons) and Karnataka (Anantkumar Hegde).


No one from JD(U) was given a ministerial berth and the Shiv Sena did not attend the oath-taking ceremony because none from the party was given anything.