Topyaps Logo

Topyaps Logo Topyaps Logo Topyaps Logo Topyaps Logo

Topyaps menu

Responsive image

Jammu And Kashmir Government Withdraws Security Cover Of Five Kashmir Separatists

Published on 17 February, 2019 at 6:20 pm By

There has been widespread anger and anguish among people all across the nation for the heinous terror attack on CRPF convoy which killed over 42 jawans at Awantipora town in J&K’s Pulwama district. It is the deadliest attack in three decades of Kashmir’s insurgency, and Pakistan-backed terror outfit Jaish-e-Mohammad was quick to claim the responsibility.


On the other hand, India has vowed to punish the aggressors. PM Modi said he shared the nation’s outrage and promised that the sacrifices” of the jawans at Pulwama “will not go in vain”. Clearly, it is high time that Pakistan understand this atmosphere and take some concrete action to put a lid on terror emanating from its soil. But not doubt given the history of terrorism in territories like Kashmir, it is absolutely clear that there are no quick-fix solutions.



Meanwhile, Jammu and Kashmir administration on February 17 withdrew security cover provided to five separatist leaders including Mirwaiz Umar Farooq. The other four are Shabir Shah, Hashim Qureshi, Bilal Lone and Abdul Ghani Bhat.




A security official said:

“No security cover will be provided under any pretext to these five leaders and other separatists.”

It is said that no security forces or cover will be provided, under any pretext, to them or any other separatists.


However, hitting back at the government, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, chairman of the All Parties Hurriyat Conference, said the separatists “never asked for security,” and called it a “non-issue.”

He added:

“It has no bearing nor can it in any way change the reality of the lingering Kashmir dispute or the situation on the ground or our principled stand and outlook regarding its resolution.”


The decision to revoke the security was taken after a high-level meeting chaired by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh on February 16 afternoon. National Security Advisor Ajit Doval, Union Home Secretary Rajiv Gauba and Director of Intelligence Bureau Rajiv Jain, were part of the meeting.

More From News

Popular on The Web