Golden Kela Awards 2016: Vote For The Movies, Actors, Songs (And More) You Hated

author image
7:04 pm 3 Mar, 2016


It is a truth universally acknowledged that if you make a crappy, long-ass movie that made no sense, audiences will hate you. Most of the time, we don’t know how to payback these directors, actors, musicians, etc. for making us suffer. Those days are gone. Vote for the worst in each category and they’ll receive a Golden Kela Award from your side.


For not only choosing to work in crappy movies, but also making those crappy movies crappier by their horrendous efforts, the following male actors have received Golden Kela nominations:

Worst Actor (Male) nominations:

Arjun Kapoor (‘Tevar’)


Arjun Rampal  (‘Roy’)

Sooraj Pancholi (‘Hero’)

Imran Khan (‘Katti Batti’)

All Guys (‘Pyaar Ka Punchnama 2’)

Bollywood Golden Kela nominees


While Bollywood actresses focus a lot on their makeup and costumes, they sometimes forget that acting is a big part of being…an actress. The following nominees need to hone their skills:

Worst Actor (Female) nominations:

Sonakshi Sinha (‘Tevar’)

Sonam Kapoor (‘Prem Ratan Dhan Paayo’)

Shraddha Kapoor (‘ABCD 2’)

Female cast (‘Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon’)

Female cast (‘Calendar Girls’)

Amy Jackson (‘Singh Is Bliing’)

Bollywood Golden Kela nominees


I guess, after spending money on atrocious stunts, lavish costumes, foreign locations and star power, some directors and producers had no money left for a halfway decent script.

Worst Film nominations:


‘Bombay Velvet’


‘Pram Ratan Dhan Paayo’

‘Singh is Bliing’

Bollywood Golden Kela nominees


This year, some directors kept up the Bollywood tradition of making audiences go, “Huh?”. Of course, some of the movies nominated were big hits, but that probably only proves how senseless the were.

Worst Director nominations:

Rohit Shetty (‘Dilwale’)

Sooraj Barjatya (‘Prem Ratan Dhan Paayo’)

Prabhu Deva (‘Singh Is Bliing’)

Madhur Bhandarkar (‘Calendar Girls’)

Nikhil Advani (‘Hero’ & ‘Katti Batti’)

Bollywood Golden Kela nominees


Some people show promise and then they let you down. To those, we can only ask, “Have you gone nuts?!”

Baawara Ho Gaya Hai Kya nominations:

Anurag Kashyap (‘Bombay Velvet’)

Vikas Behl (‘Shaandaar’)

R Balki (‘Shamitabh’)

Salman Khan (‘Bajrangi Bhaijaan’)

Whoever came up with the title ‘Singh Is Bliing’

Bollywood Golden Kela nominees


For irritating the fuck out of us and being played so much that we ended up singing them despite hating them, these songs have been nominated for being the most annoying:

Most Annoying Song nominations:

Chittiyan Kalaiyan (‘Roy’)

Gerua (‘Dilwale’)

Selfie Le Le Re (‘Bajrangi Bhaijaan’)

Prem Ratan Dhan Paayo (‘Prem Ratan Dhan Paayo’)

Chaar Shanivaar (‘All Is Well’)

Bollywood Golden Kela nominees


Do you hate ‘Main toh Superman, Salman ka fan, Jo leve panga, kar dun maa-bhan‘ more than you hate ‘Thodi mathri-vathri lete chalein, Thodi chakli-chevda lete chalein, Kuch teekha-veekha lete chalein, Kuch khatta-meetha lete chalein‘?

Most Atrocious Lyrics nominations:

Irshad Kamil for ‘Aaj Unse Milna Hai’ (‘Prem Ratan Dhan Paayo’)

Mayur Puri for ‘Selfie Le Le Re’ (‘Bajrangi Bhaijaan’)

Ikka and Arko for ‘Paani Wala Dance’ (‘Kuch Kuch Locha Hai’)

Alfaaz for ‘Birthday Bash’ (‘Dilliwaali Zaalim Girlfriend’)

Kausar Munir for ‘Superman’ (‘Tevar’)

Bollywood Golden Kela nominees


Some people have taken ‘Try, try till you succeed’ so seriously that they keep throwing utter garbage our way, hoping we’ll think it’s yummy and swallow it whole. Give up, will you?

Why Are You Still Trying nominations:

Imran Khan

Pulkit Samrat

Madhur Bhandarkar

Nikhil Advani

Kartik Aryan

Bollywood Golden Kela nominees


There is another category in which you can nominate your least favorite Bollywood offering of the past year: Most Pointless Sequel/Remake. With as popular titles as ‘Tanu Weds Manu Returns’, ‘ABCD 2’ and ‘Drishyam’, it’s sure to make some waves.


The 8th Annual Golden Kela Awards ceremony will take place in April 2016 at India Habitat Centre, New Delhi. You can vote for your worst nominees till 30 March 2016. Vote here.



  • Advertisement