Advertisement

WhatsApp’s ‘Delete For Everyone’ Feature Is Finally Here, And You’ll Be Amazed What You Can Do With It

1:31 pm 28 Oct, 2017

Advertisement

The much-awaited WhatsApp messenger’s recall message feature or Delete For Everyone is finally here. It was announced by WhatsApp’s fan site WaBetaInfo. The new feature has been rolled out for Android, iOS and Windows phone users.

The new feature enables iOS, Android and Windows phone users to recall any message wrongly or mistakenly sent to chats other than the one intended to. However, WaBetaInfo says that this feature is rolling out quite slowly in the beginning as both the recipient and the sender of the message need to have the same updated version of the messenger installed. The feature works for GIFs, texts, images, voice messages, locations, stickers (in future), contact cards, quoted messages and status updates.

Through FAQs, WhatsApp informs its users:

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

In short, although the Delete For Everyone feature is soon getting rolled out, considering the fact that there are more than a billion users of WhatsApp, it may take sometime to get updated on your phone.

Unsending messages to become easier on WhatsApp BetaNews


Advertisement

But how does this Delete For Everyone feature work?

Although WhatsApp has not yet officially announced how this feature works, but from what people around the internet have figured out is that it works akin to the Gmail Undo tab.

When this feature is enabled and you revoke a message, WhatsApp would send a copy of the message to the receiver. However, when the recipient receives the false copy or the message you didn’t intend to send, his phone won’t show you the notification neither will it get saved in his chat history. On the other hand, WhatsApp will check the ID of the message in their database. And once it discovers the message, you can recall it and send it again to the intended user.

One important thing to note about the new feature is that it is guided by a specific time frame. Users will have just seven minutes to recall the messages after sending it. Once the time frame is over, the messages cannot be recalled.

However, there are certain clauses associated with this feature.

Firstly, if your message contains quoted messages, recalling it won’t be possible. Furthermore, this Delete For Everyone will cease to work if the message is sent to everyone on a particular user’s Broadcast List.

This feature will also not work in Symbian phones and the users need to have the latest updated version of WhatsApp for this feature to work.

After you update your WhatsApp messenger to the latest version, an Activation message will pop up. In case, you don’t get this message, you can uninstall and then install your messenger again. You can also go to WhatsApp’s  Setting> Chats>Backup and perform it.

Advertisement