7 IAS Officers Who Resigned To Join Politics

5:00 pm 20 Jan, 2014


Eyeing politics as a vibrant medium of serving the nation, top notch Indian service cadre has a tradition of resigning from official bearing. All these have identified politics as more suitable career to help the poor.

They found the political system much comfortable and active in order to bring about the desired change.

At least, that’s how it looks like on the surface!


Years before India’s Independence, during the days of the Raj, IAS was known as Imperial Civil Service (ICS). This job title was associated with power and charm. The successor to the British Raj-instituted ICS, IAS is referred to as the ‘steel frame’ of the administration. But since, IAS officers almost never had the autonomy to work as they pleased and were always employed in service of politicians and not the State, many of them decided to give up the ’steel frame’ and join politics.

Given next is a list of seven IAS officers who resigned to join politics. Whether they have done anything useful or cleaned up the political system on a miniscule level is for the readers to decide.

7. Yashwant Sinha

Born in Indian state of Bihar, Sinha joined IAS in the year 1960. Before joining the turf of politics, he completed 24 years of service tenure. Yashwant resigned from his post in 1984 and joined active politics by becoming a member of the newly formed Janata party. He became a Member of Rajya Sabha in 1988.

7 IAS Officers Who Resigned To Join Politics

Sinha acted as the National Spokesperson of BJP in June, 1996. Further, Sinha’s appointment as Finance minister in March, 1998 tested his skills of commerce. He got the opportunity of heading MEA in july,2 002. Currently, Yashwant blogs under the title ‘Musings of a Swadeshi Reformer’.

6. Ajit Jogi

Ajit Jogi was the first CM of Chhattisgarh, India. Jogi studied Mechanical engineering at Bhopal, winning the University Gold Medal in 1968.

Initially, he was selected for the IPS cadre. Later he resigned from IAS and joined as a member of INC political party.

7 IAS Officers Who Resigned To Join Politics

He currently represents the ‘Marwahi’ Scheduled Tribe constituency in the state assembly.

5. Jayaprakash Narayan (Lok Satta)

Nagabhairava Jayaprakash Narayan is the founder and president of Lok Satta Party. He is an eloquent leader and columnist. Born in Andhra Pradesh, he pursued a medical degree. Narayan joined administrative services after making it to IAS in 1980 standing All India topper [Rank 2].

His 16-year-long career includes several achievements in agriculture, irrigation, technology and youth Rehabilitation projects in Andhra.

He resigned from IAS in 1996 because he found faulty governance as the biggest hurdle in the path of progress. Without wasting time, he started the ‘Lok satta Movement’ in 1996 to educate citizens of India about voting rights and responsibilities of government.

Clean politics as its main agenda Narayan started Lok Satta party on October2, 2006. He is well known for his role in bringing RTI and currently a MLA from Kukatpally constituency in Andhra Pradesh.

7 IAS Officers Who Resigned To Join Politics

4. Alphons Kannanthanam

As a District collector, Alphons Kannanthanam came into limelight when he achieved 100 percent literacy rate in Kottayam town. He was dubbed as the ‘Demolition Man’, after he took charge of the Delhi Development Authority. Prior to joining politics, he reclaimed more than 10,000 crores by demolishing illegal buildings in Delhi alone.

7 IAS Officers Who Resigned To Join Politics

He resigned as an IAS officer in 2006 serving for more than 26 years and won the seat in Kerala assembly election under the Communist Party. He is currently a member of BJP.

3. Debabrata Kantha

An Andhra Pradesh cadre and Oriya IAS officer, Debabrata Kantha quit his flourishing career on the call of Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi.

To join politics, Kantha paid a hefty amount of over Rs. 20.60 lakh to the government to settle things.

A 1987 batch IAS officer, he decided to join politics after a 20-year service. He joined IAS at age of 21 and third to resign in the list of younger Orissa officers.

7 IAS Officers Who Resigned To Join Politics

2. Jesudasu Seelam

Prior to entering politics he served as an IAS officer from 1984-99. JD Seelam is politician from INC, is a member of the parliament of India representing Andhra Pradesh in the upper house.

He left bureaucracy in 1999 to join active politics.

He is two-time Rajya Sabha MP and currently assisting finance minister P Chidambaram in the North Block.

7 IAS Officers Who Resigned To Join Politics

1. J Sundara Sekhar

Andhra as his home state, the 1983-batch officer has been allowed voluntary retirement in the first week of November 2013.

Sekhar was the secretary and CEO of West Bengal Human Rights Commission (WBHRC).

After getting nod from the Mamata Banerjee government, he is due to contest the 2014 Assembly elections from his home state.


7 IAS Officers Who Resigned To Join Politics

  • Advertisement