7 Most Famous Badminton Players Of India

10:00 pm 21 Mar, 2014


Well, we recognize badminton with the racquets and hitting shuttlecocks at the speed of 300 kmph. But very few are aware of the history which began in the middle of 1800’s in British India and was created by British Military Officers. This sport is related to Ball Badminton originated in Tamil Nadu (India) and Hanetsuki originated in Japan. The first rules were laid in Poonah now called ‘Pune’ (India) in 1873 and 1877 in Karachi (Pakistan) respectively. The International Badminton Federation now known as Badminton World Federation was established in 1934. The first national tournament was held in India in 1934 and since then badminton has been stories of success. In spite cricket been so popular game in India, the change was in the air and badminton become the second most participated sport in India. Like cricket, this game is also adored by masses for it comprises energy, action and super thrill. Here, we’ve listed some famous badminton players of India who are very much in the mainstream for their incredible skills.

7. Syed Modi

He was born as Syed Mehdi but while he was playing in Mumbai his surname was misspelled and was written as Modi and since then he used Modi as his surname. Modi was an eight time national badminton champion from 1980 to 1987. Considered as one of the most famous badminton players of India, his credentials include Gold medal in 1982 for Commonwealth Games held in Australia. Also for Austrian International he won Gold medals in 1983 and 1984 respectively. Not only this, the Asian Games too had his footprints as he won Bronze medal in 1982 held in Delhi. He was brutally shot dead at the age of 26 when he was returning from his practise from K.D. Singh Babu Stadium in Lucknow on 28th July 1988. Modi was one of the brilliant player that India lost that day.

Syed Modi

6. Nandu M. Natekar


Natekar was voted as one of the most voted sportspersons of India in 1961. He has one of the marvellous career in badminton and defeated his competitor with decent scores. He has won over 100 National and International titles in his 15 years of playing. Natekar was the first Indian to win a title abroad in 1956. He was in the last 8 in the all Indian Championship and was an awarded the first Arjuna Award in 1961.

Also Read: Back To The Ground: 7 Unforgettable Peculiarities Of Famous Indian Cricketers

Nandu M. Natekar

5. Aparna Popat

She is a former Indian Badminton player who is a senior National Champion and has a world record of nine times between 1997 and 2006. She is a winner two commonwealth games, one Silver medal in 1998 at Kuala Lumpur and another Bronze medal in 2002 at Manchester. She has won Silver medal in 1996 Silkeborg for World Junior Championships. Aparna Popat departed the game in 2006 after giving 17 years to this profession because of her wrist injury. She pulled herself out of the game as the number one player in India and making our proud.

Aparna Popat

4. Chetan Anand

Chetan Anand Buradagunta is a four time National Badminton Champion in the year 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2010. He has tremendous success in badminton which made him win the most eminent Indian Arjuna Award. He has been one of the very consistent and diligent player who brought laurels to India.

Chetan Anand

3. Saina Nehwal

Saina is a new face of badminton and ever since she joined the ground she made only success stories. She attained the world ranking of 2 in December 2010. The list is long of her distinctly brilliant graph. She was the first Indian to win a Bronze medal in badminton for Olympics in 2012 held in London. She is the first Indian to win a Gold medal in World Junior Championships in 2008 held in Pune as well as the first Indian to win a Super Series Tournament on 21st June 2009. Saina is truly an iconic and one of the most inspirational badminton player that India has ever produced with 8 as her current world ranking in 2014 January. She also has in her bag the most prestigious awards as Arjuna Award in 2009, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 2010 and Padma Shri in 2010 respectively.

Saina Nehwal

2. Pullela Gopichand

Gopichand is a former legendary player of badminton after Prakash Padukone. He has won a Gold medal for All England Championship held in Birmingham in 2001. And he has also been a Bronze medal holder at Commonwealth Games in 1998 at Kuala Lumpur. His world ranking was 5 in 2001. Gopichand has been awarded with India’s most designated awards as Arjuna Award in 1999, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 2001, Padma Shri in 2005, Dronacharya Award in 2009 and Padma Bhushan in 2014 for the outstanding contribution in badminton.

Pullela Gopichand

1. Prakash Padukone

Prakash is a recipient of Padam Shri in 1982. His father persuaded him to be in this game and as we all know the rest is history. His first international achievement was for Commonwealth Games in 1978 at Canada where he won a Gold Medal. Prakash was the first Indian to win a Gold medal for the All England Championships in 1980 at London. And in 1981 he won a Gold medal for World Cup held at Kuala Lumpur. Later in 1983 he won a Bronze medal for World Championships held at Copenhagen. Prakash Padukone has also won a National title for 7 years. There is a biography as ‘Touch Play’ by Dev S Sukumar which is the second biography of any badminton player till yet.


Prakash Padukone

  • Advertisement