PM Modi And Russian President Vladimir Putin Dedicate Kudankulam Nuclear Plant Unit-1

author image
5:01 pm 10 Aug, 2016

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Russian President Vladimir Putin and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa on August 10 jointly dedicated the nation the first unit of Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant (KNPP). It was done through a video conferencing.



The first unit of KNPP attained criticality in July 2013. The first unit was synchronised with southern power grid on October 22, 2013 and commercial power generation started by the end of December 2014. Till now, more than 10,800 million units of power have been generated from the first unit.

The 1,000 megawatt KNPP was built with Russian expertise following a pact between the then Indian prime minister Rajiv Gandhi and Soviet leader Mikahil Gorbachev in November 1988.

The complex is going to become the biggest such in the country. The framework agreement for units 5 and 6 will reportedly be ready by the end of the year. Excavation work has started for units 3 and 4.

The project has seen many troubles over the years. Soon after the deal was signed, it was stuck in the international and domestic political developments in both countries. The construction work started only in 1997 due to the political and economic upheaval in Russia after the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991.

For Unit I and II, the initial cost was estimated to be around Rs 13,171 crore, but it has gone up to Rs 17,270 crore due to the delay, rupee depreciation and other factors.

Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project thehindubusinessline

Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project thehindubusinessline


The second unit of KKNPP-II attained first criticality on July 10, 2016 after accord of regulatory and statutory clearances. This will be followed by various tests, connection to the grid and raising of power in steps to full power in line with the stage-wise clearances of the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB).

The capacity of KKNPP Unit-II on full power operation would be 1,000 Mw. Electricity generated by central sector generating stations is allocated to the beneficiary states and union territories in the electricity region by the Ministry of Power.



The allocation from KKNPP-1&2 (2,000 Mw) include Tamil Nadu (925 Mw), Karnataka (442 Mw), Kerala (266 Mw), Puducherry (67 Mw) and 300 Mw remains unallocated.

Popular on the Web


  • Viral Stories

TY News