PV Sindhu, Dipa Karmakar, Jitu Rai And Sakshi Malik To Be Conferred With Khel Ratna Award 2016

author image
6:58 pm 22 Aug, 2016

For the first time in history, not one but four players would be awarded the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award.



The sports ministry which two days back had cleared recommendation of gymnast Dipa Karmakar, ace shooter Jitu Rai for the prestigious Award, also added names for Olympic medalists PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik to the list of Khel Ratna Awardees.


Their names were cleared by a 12-member selection panel on August 22. These members were appointed by the Sports Ministry to look into the recommendations.


Khel Ratna 2016 Awardee Sania Mirza along with other awardees. Indian Express

Khel Ratna 2016 Awardee Sania Mirza along with other Arjuna awardees. Indian Express

While Dipa got the nod on the basis of her stupendous performance in Rio Olympics, Jitu over the past two years has won India many prestigious medals at Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, and the World shooting Championships.

Meanwhile, the Arjuna Award 2016 would be awarded to 15 sportspersons including cricketer Ajinkya Rahane, athlete Lalita Babar, boxer Shiva Thapa and shooter Apurvi Chandela.


Arjun-award-list (1)

The prestigious Dronacharya Award meanwhile would be given to six people including Dipa Karmakar’s coach Bisweshwar Nandi and Virat Kohli’s coach Raj Kumar Sharma.


Dipa with coach of 16 years India Times

Dipa with coach Bisweshwar Nandi. India Times

Popular on the Web