Bombay, Calcutta, Madras HCs Renamed As Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai HC

author image
7:22 pm 5 Jul, 2016

The names of Bombay, Madras and Calcutta were changed to Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata in 1995, 1996 and 2001, respectively, but the names of high courts in the cities continued to be known by the colonial names.

Now, no more.

The Centre has officially changed the names of Bombay High Court, Madras High Court and Calcutta High Court to match the names of the cities.


The Calcutta High Court.

The Calcutta High Court.

Telecom Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said, “From now on Calcutta High Court will be known as Kolkata HC, Bombay HC as Mumbai HC and Madras HC as Chennai HC.”

According to reports, the government was planning to change the names for a long time now.

Since the courts were named under the Indian High Court Act of 1861, the only way to change the names was through a Bill, which the Law Ministry approved.


All three are chartered high courts in India. The Kolkata High Court was opened on July 1, 1862, the Mumbai High Court, on August 4, 1862, and the Chennai High Court on August 15, 1862.

And since Twitter can find the fun in anything, here are some interesting quips:



Popular on the Web


  • Viral Stories

TY News