Isn’t it scary that your every move is being tracked? Wasn’t your location a private affair? Well, it isn’t anymore.
Google is tracking wherever your smartphone goes, and putting a neat red dot on a map to mark the occasion, reports Junkee.com
We all know that no matter what ‘privacy’ settings we may try and implement, our information is all being collected and stored somewhere.
All your information goes to the Google Location History. It should happen only if you have enabled ‘location services’ on your smartphone. Apparently, if users disable their devices’ location service, it somehow gets switched back on.
But, before you worry too much, we can tell you this: There is a way to disable it now and even erase your past history map. So all is not lost.
To disable the location service in your smartphones: select Settings > Privacy > Location and then untick the box next to Use my location.
To erase history:
To see if you have location history enabled, head to the Google Maps Location history page. Click the gear-icon button to access History settings. Here, you can choose to disable or enable the service. Disabling location history, however, does not remove your past history. If you’d like to erase the locations Google has stored for the past 30 days, head back to the Location history page. The default time period shows location history for the current day, so you may not see any plots on the map. Use the pull-down menu below the calendar on the left to show your history, up to 30 days. If you choose a time period in which Google has tracked your location, you’ll see the points where you’ve been on the map. And below the calendar, you’ll see options to delete your history from the time period you have chosen or to delete all history.