Google Finally Adds An ‘Undo Send’ Feature That Allows Users To Save Face

Lord knows most of us have written and sent off emails that in the spur of the moment felt fine but the minute you hit ‘Send’, you instantly regretted. Whether it was because you were drunk, angry, not really paying attention or for any other reason, that email then went on to become an embarrassing blot in your life.

Well, Google has finally added the ‘Undo Send’ option that will help all of us to immediately recall any email we shouldn’t have sent in the first place.



This ‘Undo Send’ feature had been in the experimental stage since 2009, when it was introduced in the ‘Labs’ section of the Gmail settings. That meant that users could opt to try it (by manually clicking on the option) but the feature remained an experiment technically.

With the ‘Undo Send’ feature, users can select a timeframe from 5 to 30 seconds during which they will have the option of recalling the email.



If you’re the sort of person who doesn’t spellcheck important emails, drunk emails people you know or sends off emails whenever you’re emotionally charged up, may I suggest that you opt for the 30 second timeframe? To turn on ‘Undo Send’:

Go to the ‘General’ setting of your Gmail account and enable the ‘Undo Send’ option. If you do not see the option in your ‘General’ settings, go to the ‘Lab’ settings and turn it on there.




Facebook Discussions